Monday, June 16

FEMA Assistance Available to Flood Victims

Residents in 18 Iowa counties, including Johnson, now are eligible for federal Individual Assistance programs offered through the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Anyone in those counties who suffered damage from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding beginning May 25 and continuing can register with FEMA either online or by phone.

In addition to Johnson, the Iowa counties eligible for federal individual assistance include Adams, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Delaware, Fayette, Floyd, Hardin, Linn, Marion, Page, Story, Tama and Union counties.

Homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and non-profit organizations can register by calling 800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 800-462-7585 for those with speech or hearing impairments, or they can register online at

The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

No comments: